Let’s Recap!

The wait is finally over! Premieres are in full swing and we’ve finished a week of them already! It was a big week: new shows started, old shows returned, The Emmy’s were handed out and Dexter finally ended. I was like a kid in a candy store this week! I did not know where to start! One night, I got so over excited, I actually went to bed because I couldn’t decide what to watch and just got too overwhelmed! Yes, I’m a tad psychotic, but whatever. Life is at an all time high for me right now, the weather is finally cooling down and my shows are back! Gosh! I’m really easy to please. I digress, so since a lot has happened in TV this week, I decided we should sit down and breakdown the shows and reassess my predictions from last week. What passed, what failed and everything else in between. Let’s get started!

Before I breakdown the new shows with you, I would like to start off with the finale of Dexter. Not that anyone cares, but *SPOILERS* are about to happen, so please look away from this paragraph until you’re caught up. Having said that… what the fuck was up with that series finale?! Talk about an epic fail of an ending to a series that could have been absolutely amazing. After seasons like the Ice Truck Killer, Trinity, Lumen and Bay Harbor Butcher you end it like that?! Honestly, Dexter should have ended about 3 seasons ago because the writers, Jeff Lindsay & James Manos Jr., got absolutely lazy to the point that it sort of became offensive to me as viewer. Despite that, I rallied on because I loved Dexter’s character and I was rooting for an epic ending. How pissed was I that he ended up being a lumber jack! Believe it or not, that wasn’t the worst part! First of all, he catches the killer, straps him down, but can’t kill him because he’s in love and doesn’t need the kill anymore, so he hands him off to Debra to get the glory of catching the killer. Fine, nice for him to give Deborah the credit, but he leaves her alone with the killer and she gets shot! So not only do we not get a final epic Dexter kill, but Deborah gets shot! Oh it gets better, Deborah is in the ICU and won’t wake from a blood clot, so Dexter unplugs her and she dies. Sad? Yes. Merciful? Sure. But then he takes her body and throws it in the ocean! With the trash of the Miami coast. Why?! She isn’t one of your kills! She’s a cop who loved her job and you fucked it all up, and her life, for her. She deserved a proper burial. Her friends and colleagues, like Batista & Quinn, deserved to mourn her and bury her, but instead for some bizarre reason he decided that throwing her in the ocean was a grand idea. The cherry that tops all the epic fails of the finale is that he leaves his son behind with a serial killer, Hannah, the love of his life and disappears because he’s a bad seed in their lives. Really?! He’s your god damn kid! Honestly, the writers should never ever be allowed to write for another show for any network EVER again! Those actors, especially Michael C. Hall, must be so embarrassed by the material they had to play out. It was awful and disappointing after such a long journey with the show. Dexter could have gone down as one of the best serial killer characters of all time. Instead, he’ll be remembered as the serial killer who lost his mojo and became a lumber jack.

finalscenedexter

Now that I got the Dexter finale off my chest, let’s move on to recapping the new shows that aired this week starting with the comedies. There were a bunch of shows that were hoping to gain your giggles and laughter, but did they? Well…not really. Let’s break it down with the first show that aired:

1. Dads: What an awful show! The concept is tired and the jokes were lame and an absolute lazy attempt for laughs. People were saying that the Asian bit was offensive and racist, but I don’t think it was. That’s giving it too much credit in attempting to push the envelope, which it didn’t. It was offensive because they lazily attempted to make me laugh with cheap jokes and dumb lines. The show ends with them standing around a cell phone looking at a picture of a penis and making jokes… really?! What are we in junior high?! That’s not funny! It’s stupid. This show is so canceled! At least it better be ASAP!

2. Brooklyn Nine-Nine: This was a good one! I didn’t laugh out loud, but I did chuckle. Andy Samberg still needs a few episodes to get used to scripted TV and being a lead, but I liked it. Andre Braugher is great and I loved seeing him be funny and let loose a little. It just needs time to find its groove. Unlike Dads, where no amount of time in the world can save that show. Brooklyn Nine-Nine is definitely a keeper for my DVR!

3. Mom: It wasn’t horrible, but I really think they need to lay off the heavy stuff and remember that this is a comedy. I thought it was just me, but then my husband turned to me and said “What is this show? It’s so depressing!” So, comedy needs to kick in soon and lighten up the mood. Anna Faris and Allison Janney are great, so them alone could save the show I think. I’ll give it a couple more tries.

4. The Goldbergs: No. Not good. It wasn’t horrible like Dads, but it so wasn’t good. First of all, it was really loud. Everyone was talking really loudly and shouting and it was just too much. Honestly, I’m really tired of people saying this is The Wonder Years 2.0! I loved The Wonder Years and a show has to earn a comparison like that not just land the praise from the get go. It was way over hyped and I think that really hurt it. I’d be really surprised if this show remained on TV. It’s already off my DVR so it might as well just be taken off the air.

5. Trophy Wife: I was pleasantly surprised! It was good and I totally giggled. Keeper! All the actors have great chemistry and it just flowed well. I’m happy it surprised me because I really like Malin Akerman and I love Bradley Whitford so I hope it lasts!

rs_560x415-130924130450-1024.Trophy-Wife.ms.092413_copy

6. Back in the Game: Another pleasant surprise! Who knew?! I’d totally give this dysfunctional family that loves baseball another chance. I gave it a not-so-nice review last week for having a lame premise, but it really works! I’ll give it a couple of more tries and see how it works out. Keeper…for now.

ABC_0039SCLP132470EH_BackInTheGame_Promo_SneakPeek_HD720p_bfb73da0-926b-4efd-a657-8194cb537e8d_5271255_source

7. The Crazy Ones: I’m still trying to get a handle on Robin Williams because I really don’t like him, but it’s not a bad show. That’s all I can say for now. I need to see if I can handle Williams for another few episodes. I can’t imagine this show getting canceled any time soon because getting Williams back on TV, since the end of Mork & Mindy, is a big deal. I think CBS will work hard to make this show work, so I have time to get used to him. Apparently I would do a lot for Sarah Michelle Gellar!

That rounds up the new comedies! Now onto the dramas! There weren’t many that aired, compared to the comedies, but man the dramas were good! My absolute favorite that aired and I’m glad that it didn’t disappoint was The Blacklist! Good god James Spader is a brilliant actor! He really creeped me out and played that role to perfection! I honestly can’t wait until next week! I wish it was a Netflix show so all the episodes would be ready for my viewing because the waiting, I know, is going to kill me. The next winner is Hostages. Dylan McDermott and Toni Collette are great together! I still can’t imagine how the show is going to play out, but I can’t wait to find out! Within the first five minutes the family was taken hostage by McDermott’s character, so there has to be a lot more coming our way. I’d give the show 3 out of 5 stars only because its future is hard to see for me… its unsettling. Good nonetheless. The final drama to make a home for itself on my DVR is Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and I love it! It was witty and action-y and I want more! I’m so happy it didn’t disappoint me because I’m a big fan of Marvel. I hope it lasts!

It seems like a lot of shows have come our way and there’s still much more to come next week! I’m so excited! You know, I like to make bold statements, so here’s my bold statement of the week. If I were to walk away with JUST one winner from the shows I covered above, I would have to say The Blacklist absolutely takes the cake of being the best new show of the season. I can’t wait to see the rest of the premieres next week, but so far, they all have a lot to live up to with The Blacklist already taking position as a winner in my head. The worst of the season? I have to give it to Dads. Dads is just awful and I demand a cancellation! Even though I really think Dexter deserves it on the finale alone!

35048

What shows did you watch? Which were winners and which were losers for you? Do you agree or disagree with my round up? What are your thoughts on Dexter if you watched it? I’d love to hear your opinions on all of it! You can find me on Twitter @Saudiprincess13 or you can share your opinions below. Until next week…

Leave a Reply

