Fall Shows and My Predictions

It’s that time of year again! It’s finally here! TV premieres are just around the corner! New shows, returning veterans and summer finales are all about to happen and I COULD NOT be any happier! I couldn’t decide how to share all the shows with you because… well… I watch A LOT of TV and I would need a lot of blog space to talk about new shows AND returning veterans. So, I decided to only go through the new shows with you instead! We can start our new fall show journey together!

Obviously I’m excited about several new shows, but to be fair, I have decided to list them in order of premiere date instead of preference. Brace yourselves! There are 27 brand new shows not counting Ryan Seacrest’s new game show The Million Second Quiz, talk shows and, of course, reality. Are you ready? Let’s get to it! *Hint* The ones I’m looking forward to the most will get a picture attached to it!

1. Sleepy Hollow (FOX): I’m intrigued. I can’t say I’m super excited only because I can’t see how this storyline can keep going season after season. Although, its piqued my interest because I always like to imagine what it would be like if I woke up from the dead into today’s society and had to adjust to all the advancements in technology. It’ll be interesting to see how they handle that. Plus Sleepy Hollow is a popular story and it’ll be interesting to see it plays out on the small screen. It premieres Sept 16th at 9pm. Prediction: On the fence, but most likely it’ll see a cancellation.

Sleepy-Hollow-TV-image

2. Dads (FOX): A sitcom produced by the beloved Seth MacFarlane and starring Seth Green. Honestly, I have no interest in a story about two 30 year old guys who end up having their dads move in. Interest, none! Dads airs Tuesday Sept 17th at 8pm. I say don’t get too attached because its going to get canceled faster than you can change the channel. Prediction: canceled within 2 to 3 episodes.

3. Brooklyn Nine-Nine (Fox): Andy Samberg stars in this cop comedy based in New York that’s created by the co-creator of Parks and Recreation Mike Schur. If I had to choose one comedy this season to watch it’ll probably be this one because who doesn’t love Andy Samberg?! Premieres Tuesday Sept 17th at 8:30pm. It just worries me that its lead in is Dads. Hopefully it won’t matter! Prediction: Could work.

4. Mom (CBS): Anna Farris! Yay! I like her, but I wasn’t entirely sold on the idea of a newly sober single mom sitcom until I saw that it was co-created by Chuck Lorre (Big Bang Theory, Mike & Molly) and I was sold. This, if done right, could be hilarious! Doesn’t hurt that Allison Janney (West Wing) is in it too and its lead in is 2 Broke Girls. Double yay! Airs Monday Sept 23 at 8:30pm. Prediction: Sorta Safe.

5. The Blacklist (NBC): So excited for this! James Spader is beyond amazing! He plays a criminal who helps the FBI in exchange for a deal of his own, but he’ll only work with a rookie FBI agent. Intrigue is written all over this and I can’t wait! Blacklist airs Monday Sept 23rd at 10pm. Prediction: Safe!
*Funny story happened to me on Friday on Twitter where a co-star on White Collar, Willie Garson (Stanford Blatch on Sex & the City) tweeted “Wait, NBCs The Blacklist is about a criminal helping the FBI catch OTHER criminals?? How insanely creative!!” Basically asserting that this was ripped off of White Collar… really? So I went ahead and tweeted him “Don’t hate. Its not cute.” This caused us to tweet back and forth. But really, besides me (who watches everything) who else watches White Collar? And do you have James Spader on your show? No! Granted, you have Matt Bomer, one of the main reasons why I watch it, but that’s besides the point. White Collar is a good show, but I wouldn’t be too cocky Mr. Garson.

35048

6. Hostages (CBS): A political thriller/drama about a family held hostage by a rogue FBI agent played by Dylan Mcdermott forcing the mother, Toni Collette, a surgeon who’s going to operate on the president in 24hrs to kill him or he kills her family. Sold! Butt already clenched with anticipation of what is going to happen! Produced by Jerry Bruckheimer with a cast like Collete, Mcdermott, Tate Donovan & Rhys Coiro (Entourage, A Gifted Man) I can’t see this going wrong. I think its only downside is that it’s going up against Blacklist & Monday Night Football in its time slot. That may hurt a bit, but DVRs always save the day! Hostages airs Monday Sept 23rd at 10pm. Prediction: Safe!

Hostages-1-sheet_epws__130717170959-575x851

7. Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D (ABC): So. Damn. Excited!! This show is in my top 5 of most anticipated. Joss Whedon has a hand in it which is exciting, but it’s going to be mostly handled by his brother Jed. Clark Gregg, Agent Phil Coulson, is the star of the show. His character died in the movie The Avengers, but in this show they’ll explain how he actually survived the attack of Loki. He assembles a small & highly select group of agents who work to protect “the ordinary from the extraordinary” I can’t wait!! S.H.I.E.L.D. premieres Tuesday Sept 24th at 8pm Prediction: So safe!

marvels_agents_of_shield_640_large_verge_medium_landscape

8. Lucky 7 (ABC): Seven workers from a Queens service station win a huge lotto jackpot and split the money… then drama ensues. Will I watch it? Yes. Am I excited? No. Will it be a show I watch that I want to let go but can’t? Yes, definitely! Its written all over it! Lucky 7 premieres Tuesday Sept 24th at 10pm Prediction: Canceled.

9. The Goldbergs (ABC): A comedy set in the 80s. Need I say more? Fine, it looks hilarious! But it’s a fine line of funny that they’re playing with here, so I hope it doesn’t turn into super a annoying sitcom by episode five… if it lasts that long. I have a feeling this is the show that I’m going to be sure its going to get canceled, but then it pulls a stunt like The Neighbors did and get renewed. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see. The Goldbergs premieres Tuesday Sept 24th at 9pm. Prediction: Either canceled right away or its going to pull a Neighbors stunt and shock me. I’m sticking with canceled though.

10. Trophy Wife (ABC): The title turned me off completely. I didn’t even bother reading or looking into it. Then it snuck up on me and I found out Malin Akerman (Suburgatory, 27 Dresses) was in it and I got suckered in. She’s plays a reformed party girl who falls in love and gets married only to find out she has to deal with his two ex-wives, one of which is Marcia Gay Harden! I like her too… damn! I have a feeling it’ll be my filler show. Trophy wife airs Tuesday Sept 24th at 9:30pm Prediction: Canceled.

11. Back in the Game (ABC): A son is rejected from a baseball team and so a team of misfits is created and coached by his dad played by James Caan. Really? NO! Airs Wednesday Sept 25th at 8:30pm. Prediction: CANCELED!

12. The Millers (CBS): Will Arnett plays a divorce guy whose parents move in with him. Can we please, for the love of God, retire this story line?!? Its not funny! Kids moving back home and/or parents moving in with kids is NOT original! What a waste of Arnett’s talents. If you want to give it a shot for some bizarre reason then it airs Thursday Sept 26th at 8:30pm. Prediction: Canceled!

13. The Crazy Ones (CBS): Yay! Sarah Michelle Gellar! My how I’ve missed you!! I’m not a big Robin Williams fan, but she makes up for it big time! Gellar and Williams play a father-daughter advertising team where she has to keep her dad in check because he’s a little… you know, Robin Williams-y. Created by David E. Kelley (Ally McBeal, Boston Legal) you know this can’t be bad! Totally looking forward to this! Premieres Thursday Sept 26th at 9pm. Prediction: Safe! I hope…

the-crazy-ones-season-1-CBS-2013-poster

14. The Michael J. Fox Show (NBC): Hmmmm… I like Michael J Fox, but a show loosely based on his Parkinson’s Disease and cracking jokes at its expense kinda doesn’t work for me. Is it a strong cast, yes. Is he a good actor, yes. Despite that I don’t see it working. I hope for his sake it does and it might get sympathy viewings, but I think he should stay on The Good Wife as a badass lawyer. That role and storyline was amazing! Regardless, I’ll give it a one episode shot. Might be surprised! Premieres Thursday Sept 26th at 9:30pm. Prediction: Not sure… I’ll say canceled.

15. Betrayal (ABC): Wasn’t there a show last season called Deception that got canceled before the season ended? Do they not do their research?! Honestly, every time I see a TV spot for this show I think of last seasons canceled one. Not a good sign! Unhappy wife has an affair with a lawyer for a powerful family. I can only assume things end badly… right? If you want to give it a shot it premiers Sunday Sept 29th at 10pm. Prediction: Canceled!

16. Masters of Sex (Showtime): Michael Sheen! Lizzy Caplan! Yes, please! Plus, its on Showtime! Its like the gift that keeps on giving. This show is a drama about the pioneers of the science of human sexuality whose research kicked off the sexual revolution. THIS I can’t wait for! Premieres Sunday Sept 29th at 10pm. Prediction: Safe!

masters_of_sex-show

17. Hello Ladies (HBO): A geeky Englishman, Stephen Merchant, comes to New York to find the woman of his dreams. Why does this sound like one of the story lines from the movie Love, Actually? No desire over here, but you can try it and let me know how it is! Premieres Sunday Sept 29th at 10:30pm. Prediction: It’s HBO and they don’t cancel much, so it’s safe. Although, Merchant created The Office & Extras with Ricky Gervais so it could attract that audience, but he’s the star… that might be a fail. Regardless, it’s safe.

18.We Are Men (CBS): A guy is left at the alter, so he moves into a short term rental and meets three divorced men, Tony Shalhoub, Kal Penn and Jerry O’Connell. Uhh yeah… ok. This premiers Monday Sept 30th at 8:30pm Prediction: Canceled within 5 episodes.

19. Super Fun Night (ABC): No! I passionately dislike Rebel Wilson. PASSIONATELY!!!! I wish this show gets canceled before it even airs because knowing it’s on TV will bug me! Not only is she the main character, but she also created it. Three nerdy girls venture out into the party world… yes that’s the storyline. I’m sad I hate a show Conan O’ Brien produced… but no.
Premieres Wednesday Oct 2nd 9:30pm. Prediction: Canceled! I can’t see her holding a show on her own.

20. Welcome to the Family (NBC): This comedy brings two culturally different families together by their kids falling in love immediately followed by an unplanned pregnancy. Mike O’ Malley heads one family while Ricardo Chavira (Desperate Housewives) heads the other. This multi-cultural comedy premieres Thursday Oct 2nd at 8:30pm Prediction: Canceled.

21. The Originals (CW): This is the show I am most excited about! Yes its about vampires and yes its on the CW and YES it’s going to be great! It’s a Vampire Diaries spinoff; the original vampire family moves back to New Orleans to reclaim their territory. An hour of Klaus… I can not complain! This greatness premieres Thursday Oct 3rd at 9pm. Prediction: Totally safe! It already has fans thanks to Vampire Diaries!
*Note: This will air on Thursday with The Vampire Diaries as its lead in, but starting October 22nd it’ll be on Wednesdays at 9pm.

34166

22. Sean Saves the World (NBC): Ugh… no! Please. I can’t stand Sean Hayes and a whole show with him as the lead is more painful to me than listening to nails scrape on chalk boards. A gay divorced father raising a teen and balancing a job. Even the storyline is stupid! If I didn’t turn you off from watching then this show airs Thursday Oct 3rd at 9pm Predction: Canceled!

23. Witches of East End (Lifetime): Witches! Yes! I really want to watch this but the preview scared me… we’ll see. I’ll try the first episode! Loosely based on the novel Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz, this show centers around a mother, Julia Ormond, whose two daughters, Jenna Dewan-Tatum & Rachel Boston, are the family’s next generation of witches. Love the supernatural world of witches! Premieres Sunday Oct 6th at 10pm. Prediction: Safe! Its lead in is Drop Dead Diva which has a strong fan base so it could work to its advantage.

Witches-of-east-end

24. The Tomorrow People (CW): Stephen Amell’s (Arrow) cousin Robbie Amell stars in this show where several young people from around the world have powers that represent the future of human evolution. Needless to say I’m sold! The CW hasn’t failed me yet with its great selection of shows. This futuristic show premieres Wednesday Oct 9th at 9pm (following Arrow) Prediction: Safe!

25. Once Upon a Time in Wonderland (ABC): A wonderful spinoff of Once Upon A Time focused on Alice in Wonderland! Can it get any better?? Yes! John Lithgow, Naveen Andrews (LOST) and Paul Reubens star in this spinoff. With a cast like that how could it not be good! So excited! Wonderland premieres Thursday Oct 10th at 8pm. Prediction: Totally absolutely safe!

once-upon-a-time-in-wonderland

26. Reign (CW): CW lures me in again with this period piece that chronicles the rise to power of Mary the Queen of Scots. I don’t know how closely they’ll stick to it historically, but I’m more than happy to watch and let you know! Reign premieres Thursday Oct 17th at 9pm. Prediction: Hate to say it, but I don’t see this being safe.

Reign-reign-cw-35296642-878-512

27. Dracula (NBC): The story of Dracula brought to the small screen by none other than Jonathan Rhys Meyers. Absolutely sold! I’ve missed Meyers on the small screen since the end of The Tudors. Who better to play a vengeful vampire than Meyers? Dracula premieres Friday Oct 25th at 10pm. Prediction: Safe.

dracula-nbc-banner

Well, there you have it! Your brand new fall TV shows in a nutshell. Do you have any favorites you’re excited about? Did I mention any new shows you didn’t know about? Do you agree or disagree with my predictions? Share your thoughts with me on Twitter @Saudiprincess13 or in the comments below!

Until next week…

Leave a Reply

