Summer Roundup!

Fall TV is just around the corner and I can’t WAIT to sink my teeth into all the new shows! I’m so beyond excited that I just wish it was September already! Alas, its still August, and summer shows are still airing. Ever since major networks “realized” it was ok to air scripted shows during the summer, that it wasn’t exclusive to Fall and Spring, there has been an abundance of new show across the networks for the past couple of years that I’m barely able to catch up! There are a slew that premiered this summer alone (I think I tried most of them out), but there’s also some favorites that returned! I figured a round up of the summer shows is in order since I haven’t acknowledged the summer shows yet. I’ll breakdown the shows for you and hopefully one or two will catch your eye and you’ll watch them! Here we go!

I’m going to start with the returning favorites! I won’t list them in any particular order except for the first show… that’s just my summer love!

1. Newsroom (HBO): Aaron Sorkin can write about paint drying and I’ll be captivated and riveted like its nobody’s business. He can do no wrong in my eyes regardless of how preachy and pretentious some might say his show has become. It’s now on its 2nd season and I’m still in love with the show like the first time I watched it. The chemisty between the characters, especially between Will McAvoy (Jeff Daniels) and MacKenzie McHale (Emily Mortimer) is great and witty and just plain awesome! It’s also a great marathon-able show, so add it to your list of shows! It airs on Sundays at 10pm. Season 2 finale is on September 15th.

The_Newsroom_58235

2. True Blood (HBO): Honestly, I love this show for no reason whatsoever. I’ll keep watching it, I’m entertained, but I am absolutely ready for it to wrap up. I love nothing more than vampires and southern vampires at that, but at some point enough is enough. It just got renewed for its 7th season, which baffles me, but I’m still going to watch it happily. Season 1 and 2 were great! Lafayette is beyond brilliant and I think that he is one of the best parts of the show! Season 6 just wrapped up this past Sunday. Let’s see what season 7 brings us!

3. Drop Dead Diva (Lifetime): This is a cutesy and absolute epitome of a summer show about a lawyer and model who die and their souls get switched. The model enters the lawyers body and the lawyers soul remains in heaven. Its on its 5th season and actually got canceled after the 4th season, but the love from the fans brought it back! Yay! A total “chick flick” kinda show so men, steer clear! Airs Sundays at 9pm, this season just ended, but will resume in October.

4. Game of Thrones (HBO): Season 3 just wrapped up one bloody season and I can’t even imagine how I’m going to last until 2014 for season 4! What a brilliantly written and executed show! Some of the best writers on television today. Just absolute perfection! Totally and absolutely a show that needs to be marathoned ASAP! You have time to get caught up by summer of 2014! Each season is only 10 episodes so it’s totally doable.

5. Melissa and Joey (ABC Family): Of all the shows I could list, I chose this show because if given a chance, it’s really funny! It’s a half hour family comedy starring Melissa Joan Hart and Joey Lawrence who have incredible chemistry and mesh beautifully together. Some of the jokes they get away with absolutely amazes me! Melissa Burke, a politician, has to raise her niece & nephew after their parents end up in jail for fraud, think pyramid scheme, and hires Joe Longo as a “manny”. Honestly, its a filler show that is funny and light! It airs on Wednesdays at 8pm. Go have a giggle!

MandJ

6. Dexter (Showtime): I like to call this the show that I love to hate. Dexter started off as one of the most amazing and original shows I’ve ever seen. Written, directed and acted well. The plot lines were brilliant and the finales were butt clenching. Then season 6 starts and it’s as if the main writers, Jeff Lindsay & James Manos Jr, decide that they’re over it or they ran out of ideas. The show started getting less like it predecessors and more like amateurs were writing. It’s still good compared to many shows on TV, but it’s not up to par with previous seasons. Seasons like Bay Harbor Butcher, Trinity, The Ice Truck Killer and Lumen were some amazing story lines! I really hope this final season ends with me falling in love again with the show. Dexter airs at 9pm on Sundays. Sorry Time Warner cable subscribers for getting screwed by your cable company out of Showtime!

Now on to the new shows that premiered this summer!

1. Under the Dome (CBS): I dedicated my first blog to this show and I still stick by my word! It hasn’t let me down yet and it’s the number one viewed show this summer! Good job CBS for picking up a winner! Already renewed for a second season, this Stephen King adapted show is still trying to solve the origins of the dome that covered the small town of Chester’s Mill. No escape has been found and in the past 5 weeks several characters died and an egg, that emits hallucinations, has been discovered. Piqued your interest? It airs Mondays at 10pm go watch it! Sorry Time Warner cable subscribers for having a sucky carrier who can’t give you the luxury of watching CBS shows! Go to CBS.com… they got your back!

2. Ray Donovan (Showtime): Ray Donovan (Liev Schreiber) is a hollywood “fixer” who is a strong, silent and subtle badass with father, marital and drinking issues. I was hooked from the first episode. I’m not in love, but I enjoy the hell out of this show! Elliott Gould and Jon Voight add an extra layer of awesomeness to the show! If Under the Dome didn’t exist this would have definitely been my favorite new show of the summer. Airs Sundays at 10pm and has been renewed for a 2nd season. Again, I apologize Time Warner cable subscribers!

MV5BMjE1ODY5Njc0NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTQ5NTU1OQ@@._V1_SY317_CR11,0,214,317_

3. The Bridge (FX): A murder occurs on the boarder of Mexico and Texas that brings together two detectives from either side to solve the mystery. Good premise? Yes. Good acting? Yes, Diane Kruger and Demian Bichir (Weeds) are great. Good show? I don’t know! I’m halfway through the season and I still don’t see anything happening. I have all the puzzle pieces, but why isn’t anyone putting them together for me? Also, why does Diane’s character have to have Aspergers? It does nothing for her character except create awkward moments and weird silences that lead to scene changes. I’m still on the fence with this show and apparently so is the network because it hasn’t been picked up for a 2nd season yet. Episodes air Wednesday at 10pm.

4. Graceland (USA): A beachfront property that houses undercover agents from the DEA, FBI and customs all live together and solve crimes. This show gives you everything – action, scenery, pretty actors, love, backstabbing and sex. It lacks one thing though… substance! It’s the perfect filler show. The show has not been picked up nor canceled yet and that totally makes sense. Graceland airs Thursdays at 10pm.

graceland_aspot_2490x1418_keyart_v6_cont

5. Mistresses (ABC): If sex, scandal and far fetched story lines don’t scream summer television then I don’t know what does! What a great show to lose yourself in and just mindlessly enjoy it during a hot summers night, with a glass of Diet Coke and a silent house because everyone is asleep and you’re finally alone. I honestly didn’t think I would like it, but I watched it for Alyssa Milano and she did not disappoint! Even though I want to slap her entitled character sometimes I find myself thinking “Hey, she’s a whole lot better than Yunjin Kim (LOST)” What a waste of a character and storyline
for her. Just awful! It’s so bad that I wish her character would just die and save me the time of watching her! Harsh? Maybe, but go watch it and tell me if I’m wrong. Episodes air Mondays at 9pm.

6. The Fosters (ABC Family): Talk about being pleasantly surprised! This show is actually really good with strong story lines, really good acting and super progressive for its time slot, audience and network. It’s about a biracial lesbian couple who adopted Hispanic twins, a Caucasian brother and sister and one of the moms has a biological son with her ex-husband who happens to be her partner on the police force (the other mom is a school principle). By the end of the season we even get to see a gay marriage take place! This is a good show for many reasons, but mostly it’s good because it’s eye opening for its young audience and makes things that are “taboo” more mainstream and accessible for young adults to be exposed to. The season ended, but I really urge you to give it a shot! Oh, and side note, its executive produced by Jennifer Lopez. It’s been renewed for a second season! Good job JLo!

the-fosters

7. Devious Maids (Lifetime): Wow. I mean… I know what they were going for with this show, but man! This show is NOT good! The acting is mediocre at best. The script is as if I wrote it and I only say this because I don’t know the first thing about writing scripts! The storyline is a pretty tired & unoriginal “whodunnit” kinda situation. Yeah, it has a full Latina cast, cool. Diversity… I get it and I support it, but at least break barriers with a good story line! A maid is killed in the first 5 minutes of the premier and one of the staff gets framed. Ana Ortiz is a lawyer who comes in as an undercover maid trying to figure out who killed Flora. Why? Oh, yeah, the guy framed is her son! Eva Longoria tried to do good by executive producing this show, but ended up with all kinds of weak. I say skip it! Although, if bad TV piques your interest go ahead and watch it on Sundays at 10pm. Shockingly, its been renewed for a second season!

That wraps up my summer show roundup! Agree with my breakdown? Disagree? Share your thoughts with me below in the comments or find me on Twitter @Saudiprincess13. I would love to hear your thoughts!

Until next week…

2 responses to “Summer Roundup!

  1. You are spot on with Newsroom each episode is thoroughly entertaining. I appreciate a show that a couple can enjoy together even if they have differing political views.

    As I flipped channels yesterday, I came across Sabrina the Teenage Witch and briefly wondered what happened to Melissa Joan Hart as I quickly changed the channel. Thanks for clearing that up.

    In my humble opinion, you were too harsh on Devious Maids. In its simplest form, it is a novella and until now, I never understood why they were so entertaining and addictive.

  2. Thanx for mentioning those summer shows. I will definitely check them out.

    Dexter is one of my all time favorites, and im sad it will soon be over. I just hope it has an amazing ending.

    As for True Blood im a sucker for vampires…hehe and i keep looking forward to every episode.

    Keep those reviews coming! No one can analyze it better than you.

Leave a Reply

